The Internet of Things: things are not going to rebel, aren’t they ?

This week we came up with a really interesting topic of the ‘Internet of things’ which can be defined as “a system of interrelated computing devices, mechanical and digital machines, objects, animals or people that are provided with unique identifiers and the ability to transfer data over a network without requiring human-to-human or human-to-computer interaction”, according to Internet of Things Agenda.

Personally, I consider it is the notion of how people apply sensors to stuffs around us and we have not only smartphones, but ‘smartthings’. The examples range from bracelets helping us to know our bodies’ status to smart toothbrushes recognizing teeth’s problem or even a smart house. The advantage of this transition is far more than we can imagine such as smart cement monitoring stresses, cracks, and warpages, which is installed after the bridge collapse in Minnesota in 2007.

2al2kw3

Despite all those benefits, there are concerns such as lack of privacy or security. Personally, I have another concern. As we have already known, smart devices actually operate based on our habits, which can be understood as following structured actions. So what if one day, they will not follow the same pattern anymore, and do something else ? Or worse, rebel ? Okay, they are just machines, but they are ‘smart’. Recently one of the smartest human-like robots also said that she would ‘destroy human’ so anything can happen.

Tell me guys, they are not going to rebel, aren’t they ?

19 thoughts on “The Internet of Things: things are not going to rebel, aren’t they ?”

  1. Great post!
    I’m so glad that I’m not the only one who has real reservations about IOT! The idea of sentient computers, which you refer to in your last paragraph, is a real concern which I believe many people overlook. Also, I do find the idea of a fridge needing or having internet connection just ridiculous!

    As for your post, I thought your meme was brilliant and your writing to be really insightful and clear!

    Great Job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with the point you are making. Take Fitbits for example. It tracks all the movements you make during your day, heart rate, food, exercise. While these feature may not be able to do much against me, the fact that I get up and move when my Fitbit is telling me I’ve been sitting down for too long says loads about how we use and rely on technology. Will our smart things take over? I’d say probably not but our reliance on the is definitely something that should raise alarm bells.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there,

      I definitely agree that we are already reliant on technology without that ‘Internet of things’. And in the near future when we can control everything over Wifi, I guess we will turn into the people in Wall-E.

      Thanks for your comment.
      Cuong.

      Like

  3. Awesome Post with great meme! I agree with your points about the IOT, I too have hesitations about its power as eventually everything will be connected which doesn’t necessarily mean a good thing! I mean take that robot for example that thing is creepy as! Overall nice work

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great job with your concluding blog post to this semester. Funny and engaging meme and your blog is written in a concise and understanding manner.
    I like how you questioned whether the internet of things would rebel or not and made me think of how safe our future really is. You should check out this article http://www.mirror.co.uk/tech/watch-sophia-sexy-robot-claim-7606152 it explains more about the ‘Hot Robot’ you referred to and how it all went wrong.
    Overall, well done

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Isabelle,

      I think with the ‘Internet of things’, the significant amount of surveillance we are experiencing now will increase, and I am so doubtful of whether we are gonna be safe.

      Thanks for your comment and suggested source.
      Cuong.

      Like

    1. Hi Blair,

      I was the same thinking there is no such thing exists. But then I was surprised to know and a bit freaked out by thinking that there are even more ridiculous inventions.

      Thanks for your comment and your suggested source.
      Cuong.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey rather cool internet web-site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Remarkable .. I’ll bookmark your internet site and take the feeds alo&I€™âs#8217;m pleased to uncover numerous beneficial details correct here inside the submit, we will need to have develop far more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

      Like

  5. This post really identified how much we have invested our everyday lives into technology. It really makes me wonder whether when it comes time to when we buy our own houses, if the technology aspect will factor into if we buy it or not. Gone are the days of how far away are we from work or where is the nearest school or train station. We are moving to the point where we will be comparing a house that has built in bluetooth speakers in the room and a house that can prepare breakfast for you in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey there. That was really well-written and you brought up some really good points. I agree with your concern that these smart machines could ‘rebel’ or ‘destroy humans’ or even stranger, love their humans! If you have not seen the film ‘Her’ I high recommended that you watch it, it gives a great insight as to where we could be going in the future with these types of technologies.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The afternoon opened with a short performance from Charlie Lim, a performer I highlighted in my MucLiMattersisve roundup in May. We also had some encouraging presentations; Graham Perkins, the president of sgmuso described the

    Like

Leave a Reply

